Dog Days of Summer

 As I am sure you have figured out, summer is my favorite season, to the point that I become bitter at the idea of it ending soon. Unfortunately my ability to influence planetary rotations, angles, and alignments is still severely lacking so we are once again in the last few weeks of the best time of year. This is the time of year that separates the real summer lovers from those who are just playing at it. I don’t know about y’all but here in the South you have to love summer to like August. We get high humidity and high temps all summer long, but in August it gets serious. Too hot to stand up. Air too thick to mow the grass. At 7 am. It is a common misconception that Southerners are lazy, we sit around under our ceiling fans sipping mint juleps or iced tea and chatting with each other most all day. We aren’t lazy, we just aren’t stupid. Hot air rises, if you sit you are farther from it. Extreme humidity (99% or above for weeks on end, whether it rains or not) can lead to severe dehydration very quickly if you are up and moving around. These dog days of summer are the days where the smartest people are like the dog, lay in the grass under a shade tree, nap, read a book (ok the dog doesn’t read, but you get the idea), eat light, enjoy the relax time. Fall and it’s craziness are just around the corner, no need to rush them. Personally I am not comfortable when the temp is below 73 degrees (at any time of year, in or outdoors. I get dry, itchy skin once the humidity dips below about 65%. I prefer it when being outside forces you to slow down, enjoy things, you can’t move quickly when the air is like molasses. After yesterday’s rant I wanted to share something more happy, since I got that off my chest I feel much better. Thanks for being my sounding board. I hope you are enjoying these last few weeks before the Fall comes and gets us, I know I will.

What is your favorite mid August activity?

2 thoughts on “Dog Days of Summer

  1. Pingback: Mom of Teen Daughter Seeks Advice « mamaskitchentable

  2. Pingback: The End of Summer 2012 « mamaskitchentable

What's on your mind?

