Gluttoney for a Cause

Yesterday was one of those go to Barnes and Nobles and the proceeds will benefit your child’s school days. Well, I always go to the library or buy books on consignment (because they are too expensive new). One book? Not super expensive, but as you can see from our haul in the picture, I can’t physically buy just one book. To me they are like potato chips, 10 seems like a serving size, but I’d happily gobble up a few over that amount as well. I love to read, depending on the books, I can go through 3 or so in a week (this is working 2 jobs and not thoroughly neglecting anything except my sleep). And “earning” money for the school  is exactly the sort of excuse I need to go a little overboard in the bookstore. I have been trying for years to get all of my children (hell, I’d be happy with 1 child) to enjoy reading as much as I do. We have family reading time, I rent movies/go to see movies only after the book is read, I read “big kid” books aloud (think The Westing Game – a household fav) and we have discussions about what we read. Every once in a while I’ll think I’ve got one hooked, but, alas, it is always temporary. The lure of TV is too bright, the video games too flashy… Sigh.

Back to yesterday! We went (and I blew our “extras” budget so no candy/eating out/ driving too much this month) and everybody picked out some really great books. I thought it’d be fun to write little reviews/recommendations as we go along with our new books. So these are the books here (divided by who purchased them), I will link the titles to reviews as they come in. Should be fun…

BoyChild I:

  • The Witches by Roald Dahl
  • The Lemonade War by Jacqueline Davies
  • If You Give a Dog a Donut by Laura Numeroff

BoyChild II:

  • Ranger’s Apprentice Book 1 The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
  • The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

GirlChild:

  • Taming the Star Runner by S E Hinton
  • Try Not To Breathe by Jennifer R Hubard

Mama & Household Library:

  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • Fifty Shades of Gray by E L James
  • And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Did you notice? I finally broke down & got the book that everyone’s talking about, Fifty Shades of Gray. I’m going to see if it’s as erotic interesting as everyone says, I’ll let you know. I will start as soon as I finish reading the hysterical book I am reading right now. I got it at a yard sale recently, Family-The Ties that Bind… and Gag! by Erma Bombeck if you can find a copy it’s a great laugh out loud book that you can actually repeat the jokes in. She’s a great author for a fun read anyway, should you run across any of her stuff. She coined the phrase “Motherhood, the second oldest profession”. She would have been a Mommy Blogger in the 80s had there been such things then, seriously funny stuff. 🙂

So, happy reading, we will be in touch…

Also, if you are familiar with any on our list feel free to comment on any of them with your own opinion. (Obviously some of these books are classics, well depending on your definition of that word, but we didn’t have a copy of our own & I enjoy building our family library) 🙂

One thought on “Gluttoney for a Cause

  1. Pingback: The Lucky One, I Love Oranges! « mamaskitchentable

What's on your mind?

